Journalist of the Year

Journalist of the Year; Layeeq wins the award for a second consecutive year

Etilaatroz’s Liyaqat Layeeq, has won the Afghanistan Journalist of the Year award for a second consecutive year. It is a national award organized each year by Afghanistan Journalists Center (AFJC) in the capital Kabul.

He won the award last year too.

The panel of judges reviewed Layeeq’s report about the 91 Policy Code – a contingency fund – which revealed that hundreds of millions of afghanis have been withdrawn from 91 policy code improperly, in some cases for personal purposes, in the 1398 Fiscal Year.

The report got the highest score in the open competition held between the Afghan journalists.

Fakhria Radfar, reporter of the Payk Investigative Journalism Center, and Asia Hamzayee who is a reporter with the Hasht-e-Subh daily newspaper were also rewarded as journalists of the year.

Esmatullah Soroush, who is also an investigative reporter with the Daily Etilaatroz, was picked as top-10 journalists of the year. Mr. Soroush wrote a detailed report on manipulation in the country’s nationwide university entrance exam, Kankor.

On the occasion of the national journalist day in Afghanistan, March 17, the AFJC announces Afghanistan’s Journalist of the Year and 10 top journalists after evaluating their work through open competition between the Afghan journalists.

Afghanistan’s Journalist of the Year was awarded for the first time seven years ago, in 1392 Solar Year. A total of nine journalists from different media outlets in Afghanistan have so far been awarded as Journalist of the Year by the AFJC.